Intrepid Girl Reporter


one of those people
September 17, 2007, 7:03 am
Filed under: how we roll, music, old stuff, pipe dreams, Pop-Song

My new MacBook will be on its way to Jeju-do very, very soon. I’ve come to peace with it. My father, he has deep-rooted, principled objections to Apple Computers Inc., and I understand them; anyone can make a PC or a PC part or a PC program, but if you want something for an Apple, well, you have to go through Apple. But I’m really, really excited. It’s like a toy. Have you seen iLife ‘08?

Today I taught my kids the word for “flood” (hmm), ate a yogurt popsicle, and had one new boy show up to choir and two girls quit. Cool, whatever, we didn’t want you anyway. I also saw the student body president being a jackass in the special ed classroom – it appears that all student body presidents everywhere are alike – and told ACT that I’m down for yoga and pottery classes. I really want to take up cello again too, but they’re telling me that a used one costs around $400, so I have to think about it. I think I need some extracurriculars, though. I’m ready to do more on my own, to get more involved in this city, to be less reliant on others. And in that spirit, even though I don’t really feel like it, I’m going to go walk around Hwabuk and see what I can see.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Pottery classes? Tell me more, tell me more! I think I’d be interested!

Comment by N

You will love your MacBook; did you go for black or white? While there are definitely disadvantages to only being able to get Apple stuff from Apple, there are also some advantages, namely that everything is so beautifully designed to work with everything else technically and aesthetically.

I enjoy reading your blog posts — keep it up!

Comment by Miles




Leave a Reply

