Intrepid Girl Reporter


steampunk
November 12, 2007, 2:53 am
Filed under: actual transcripts, ESL, students, teaching

For my advanced classes I’m giving a (jacked-up, improvised, two hours old) version of the fortune teller lesson, one that allows them to speculate about the future, specifically the century to come. Now, however, I find that I’m struggling re: how to tell them that all the things they predict have already happened.

“We will travel to the moon!”

“There will be robots!”

“We will have a food machine!” (Listen, Korea, I hate to break it to you, but those are called ovens. Learn them. Love them.)

Some of the predictions were in the classic “We will never do homework/We will have a homework machine” variety, while others were a bit more bizarre – I was especially taken with “We will never shower” and “You will go to Hell.” (I read that over her shoulder. I suspect that it was directed towards someone else.) Then, of course, there were the flying-car and underwater-city variants, and my personal favorite, “We will be one with North Korea.” As Eleanor Roosevelt said, the future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love your students almost as much as I love mine.

Comment by grayshifter




Leave a Reply

