Intrepid Girl Reporter


minute after minute/hour after hour

“I am thankful for food because can fly.” 

– a student on Thanksgiving gratitude

“I would bring Spiderman because he can build a house.” (out of webs?)

“I would bring a scientist because he can find a super pig if we are hungry.”

– 2nd graders on passengers they would choose to accompany them on the Mayflower 

I’m sitting here in the gyomushil again sneaking pieces of melon taffy because I don’t have enough for everyone. And I don’t want to share. I am not a melon fan, but this candy is delicious enough that I originally bought it for The Roommate Box and, um, started eating it. (…Sorry.)

I’d like to say that I’m chowing candy thanks to the stress of seeing one student hold a knife against another’s neck in class today, but honestly, I don’t even know how surprised I can be anymore about anything. To be fair, it was clearly a joke, and was clearly just a pocketknife…See? Listen to me! I took it away, and I immediately received protests from the students, because apparently the pocketknife was doubling as a keychain for some kid’s house key. To which I can only say: WELL MAYBE YOU SHOULDN’T CARRY KNIVES AROUND HUH? I gave it to Short Jeong, who, unsurprisingly, didn’t seem all that fazed.

In other news, I now have two Internships to choose from. All things considered, my problems could be a lot worse.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

daily thing I like, #2
November 21, 2007, 4:21 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized
I’m gonna blow this damn candle out
I don’t want nobody coming over to my table
I don’t got nothing to talk to anybody about
All the dreamers pass this way someday
Hiding in bottles, in dark cafes, dark cafes
Only a dark cocoon before I get my gorgeous wings and fly away

Only a phase, these dark cafe days

Joni Mitchell – The Last Time I Saw Richard (mp3)

http://www.box.net/shared/j8yvntieo8

0 Comments

minute after minute/hour after hour
November 21, 2007, 5:10 am
Filed under: ESL, actual transcripts, food, life on Jeju, of course, okay seriously Korea, skool, students, teaching, the authorities
“I am thankful for food because can fly.”

– a student on Thanksgiving gratitude

“I would bring Spiderman because he can build a house.” (out of webs?)

“I would bring a scientist because he can find a super pig if we are hungry.”

– 2nd graders on passengers they would choose to accompany them on the Mayflower

Absolutely brilliant. They obviously got the point of your lessons since they knew that the pilgrims were low on food and in dire need of shelter on the Mayflower. Way to go!

Comment by endithinks




Leave a Reply

