Intrepid Girl Reporter


Tuesday, 1/8: in which we hope the journey is not the destination
January 8, 2008, 3:00 am
Filed under: host fam, okay seriously Korea

Because if it was, I want my money back.

I’m laying here in bed at 11:39 AM ostensibly due to jet lag, although the reality, as we all know, is that I probably would have been here anyway. Sitting here, adding Scrabulous to my facebook profile, because I need another way to waste time. I just challenged four people, one of whom I haven’t spoken to in almost a year. Reason #1139 why I am of little worth to the human race.

I am back here in the ‘Ju, however, which merits celebration, because for a while I thought I was going to have to sleep at Gimpo, and then I thought I was going to have to sleep at Incheon. I’ve done it in Atlanta (twice) and both times acted as a strong disincentive to my oft-repeated claims that I’m going to become a hobo. Essentially, here’s what happened:

  • twelve-hour flight from ATL, sitting in a row in front of one screaming baby and behind another*
  • arrival at Incheon
  • frantic scurry to Gimpo in order to meet 8:45 flight, via limo bus
  • discovery at Gimpo that all flights are suspended due to fog
  • consolatory visit to Dunkin’ Donuts
  • withdrawal of ATM funds, discovery that I have a lot less money than I thought
  • announcement that all flights from Gimpo are canceled, thus necessitating my return to Incheon
  • return to Incheon for 9:30 flight, also via limo bus
  • phone call in broken Korean to Oma explaining that no, flights do not normally leave Incheon for Jeju, but yes, in this case they are
  • flights out of Incheon also suspended due to fog
  • still suspended
  • arrival of primary school class
  • meeting with this woman in my yoga class who teaches in Hallim (?)
  • still delayed
  • call ACT to delay camp start so I don’t have to teach the next day
  • Scooter, who bought a book I needed for camp, offers to meet me at airport with book, declines once he learns I MAY NEVER GET HOME
  • Host Fam keeps calling me to tell me not to eat dinner, as Apa has made raw fish (if one can make that)
  • around 11:15, KoreanAir offers to provide snacks and drinks, which never materialize
  • herded onto plane to wait around 12, find self surrounded by high school boys’ soccer team, all of whom keep talking about me
  • wait for approx. 45 minutes
  • they tell us to get off the plane and that it will not be flying tonight
  • five minutes later they change their mind, despite the fact that fog looks thicker than ever, i.e. if they can take off in this they could have taken off hours ago
  • I finally get in around 2AM
  • raw fish dinner with Apa, some ginseng wine**

*Weirdly, there were maybe twenty Vietnamese people on the flight. All of whom, in a statistical anomaly, were dumb as dirt. (Maybe they were related?) The woman behind me got into a protracted argument with the flight staff about whether or not her kid had a seat and refused to listen to anything they had to say, after which her baby kicked me from behind for the next ten hours. I was a little bit mad at them for making us look bad, even though every culture has its share of idiots.

**Ginseng tastes like old cigarettes.

But I am here now, and so happy to be back with my Crew. Host Fam was pumped to see me and vice versa. I start teaching camp tomorrow, thanks to the abovementioned travel difficulties.

I’m debating a belated year-end recap. Maybe later.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

you should have told me you were flying from ATL, we could have had coffee or something!

Comment by anita

Thanks for sharing these great thoughts. I’m bookmarking this for future reference. Some of these I already do, so the point resonated most strongly with me. Keep feeding the creativity.
I am currently on holiday so, for this reason, I’ve nothing better to do than surf the web for travel ideas, lie around and update my blog. Well, more or less anyway
Doug C

Comment by Doug




Leave a Reply

