Intrepid Girl Reporter


Wednesday, 3/19: the new radicals
March 20, 2008, 4:52 am
Filed under: actual transcripts, IGR Recommends, skool, students, teaching

Technically these are from yesterday’s classes. I’ve been swamped as of late.

2D

Dear Mr. President,

Hello my name is *******. I have lived Jeju, Korea. I have a wish to you. Please don’t fight other country. I don’t like war. I’m very afraid of the war. Please, Don’t fight!!!! March 18th, 2008.

.

.

.

2C

Dear President Bush,

Hello. I’m Korean. [crossed out crossed out crossed out] I think, you didn’t relate all [indistinguishable Korean]. But I have misteries. I also think, you have many secrets. Because I believe, you aren’t evil. Maybe you should retire president of USA becase USA will elect other president. It important for you to think.

.

.

.

Deer. Bush

Bush president. Hello!

My name is *****. I’m Korean. Your USA president. them you will people loves and good human. Bush president! people love you, you must love people. You are great president. Bye~~

From: ******

.

.

.

Dear. George W. Bush.

Hello President Bush. I am a student ********. I think you verry handsome. Bush! FTA is very bad. Ok? I love you Bush

bye-bye

From ********

.

.

.

Hi Myung Bak ~

I’m *********** Umm… Oh! Congreturation~But, we not want study Engilsh. Why? Because we are Korean. We are not American Ok? SO. I’m not study Engilsh hard. Bye ~

.

.

.

To. George W. Bush.

Hello~! My name is ******. I’m a student. I live in the Jeju in Korea and I go to a **** middle school. I have many questions.

  1. I want to live in the peace. What about you?
  2. How about the 9.11?

Please tell me these answers.

.

.

.

To. Our president, Myeong Park.

Hi~Myeong Park. I am *******. I live in Jeju and I go to Jeju ******** Middle School. My friends want more holidays. I know you can’t make more holidays. Because for Korea! My friends don’t want to have a test. Also I don’t want to have a test, but I think we must know our own scores. Then we must study hard to change our scores better than before. For our dream. Myeong Park, I know you can’t. I wrote just our opinion (hope). Don’t mind about it. Then bye~

From. *******

.

.

.

Dear Mr president I hate you! Why? test very mach! ok?

form. ********

.

.

.

To. Lee Myung Bak President.

Hi my name is ***********. I think you have bad judgement bad because your judgement give pain to our. I also think you are very bad because we don’t know Korean well we learn also English. Do you have brain? Maybe you should promise No English test.

Bye Bye~ from *****Middle school student

.

.

.

Dear Lee Myung Bak president.

Hello, my name is ************. I think we are help poor people. Because they are a people (?) [sic]. And I also think change the world. Because we are worrying the environment, hanger, war and poverty. Maybe you should try to succeed. Because we are still expect to you. It is important for you to Korea. Because your parents, your house, your son, your daughter, your wife and your peoples in Korea.

See you again. Bye.

.

.

.

.

WEDNESDAY, 19 MARCH

2F (out of order) Waiting on the World to Change

  • not too bad, but a little bit of a struggle to keep them on track
  • kept to original plan (didn’t work v. well)

2G – Waiting on the World to Change

  • this is not the PopSongBoys show
  • that kid in the front…
  • switched lesson around, did opinions first
  • Co-Teacher F doesn’t care if I change lesson but thinks should at least stick to same topic
  • did that mentally disabled kid keep trying to touch my foot?

2K – Waiting on the World to Change

  • focused more on giving opinion/had kids write letters in class
  • reinforced concepts, kept them on track
  • find book for Malcolm X
  • had talk with little kid who refuses to do work but speaks English – name?

2J – Waiting on the World to Change

  • lesson entirely without powerpoint (“Who is America’s president?”)
  • quiet against all odds
  • collect letters next week

2H – Waiting on the World to Change

  • weird orange substance on sleeve – which student stuck it there?
  • didn’t really do work very well
  • I thought they were okay but Co-Teacher F chewed them out for something (?) – rather worrisome

I realize that I have no right to be exhausted by teaching. My high school teachers taught five classes every day (albeit to students who spoke their language). Increasingly, however, I realize that my fatigue on Wednesdays – and most days, really – comes from the fact that teaching, in a lot of ways, means performing. You get up there and, three or four or five times a day, you put on an interactive one-woman show called “Hey, Let’s Learn English!” Sometimes the audience is responsive, and they respond to your calls for volunteers to come on stage, and some days it’s pretty clear that the only reason they came is because Cirque du Soleil or the Lee Greenwood Show was all sold out. But it doesn’t matter. Your job depends on those reviews.

In unrelated news, I’m really excited that “The Office” is coming back on April 10th.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

