Intrepid Girl Reporter


Sunday, 3/23: and hoping and praying and dreaming
March 23, 2008, 2:12 pm
Filed under: IGR Recommends, lesson plans, music

I’m currently trying to plan what appears to be the only ESL lesson in existence based on Skee-Lo’s “I Wish.” The plan is to teach my students a) the construction “I wish,” b) how to rhyme, and c) the word “baller.” I suspect, however, I’m going to end up using Nina Simone’s “I Wish I Knew How It Feels To Be Free,” which is also a good song, but one which mentions neither ballers nor Impalas.

In the meantime, I’ll try to post the Price is Right lesson soon. The election lesson needs some pretty serious modification before it can be put up.

And since I’m on the subject of Ms. Simone, I’ll go ahead and Recommend one of my favorite songs of hers:

Nina Simone – Mississippi Goddamn 

You can download most of the rest of that album here. I’m not sure why I don’t have all the songs.

EDIT: I went to Mass today in short sleeves, because it was the only remotely springlike outfit I could find, and HM asked me three different times if I was going to be cold. People at church asked me if I was cold. Complete strangers came up to me, rubbed my arms, and asked me if I was cold. HM had HB call me to ask if I was cold later. When I came home, HM asked me if I was cold. And now that it is 11:11 PM and I am wearing pants and a sweatshirt, HD just came in and asked me if I was cold today. I GET IT. Isn’t there a point in your life where how cold you are becomes no one’s business but your own?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for the songs — will listen soon.

Comment by Soccer

Well, were you? cold?

Comment by Vibh




Leave a Reply

