Intrepid Girl Reporter


Monday, 3/31: on not fitting
March 31, 2008, 9:18 am
Filed under: identity, IGR Recommends, media

The music in Holly’s today is unusually bad. However, one of the girls watched my backpack while I went to the post office.

I meant to share these earlier:

Who Are We? New Dialogue on Mixed Race (NYTimes)

Mixed Messenger (NYTimes) 

I don’t think these articles say anything particularly new about race. And it would be disingenuous for me to say that I’ve ever truly suffered due to my ethnic background. I feel, quite honestly, that it’s been something from which I’ve benefited, almost like an advantage others might not have.

But yes, there are identity issues. Everyone has them; I, and others like me, might have a few more than the average bear. What I do like about these pieces is that they call attention to the fact that our notions of race are changing. I don’t fit into most categories, and neither will my children, and neither will theirs. Our spectrum, our heritage will continue to grow. The question is whether or not America, outside these elite circles where such a thing is a mark of distinction, can keep the same pace.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

