Intrepid Girl Reporter


Tuesday, 4/9: just want to hold you, don’t want to hold you down
April 8, 2008, 12:47 pm
Filed under: 공부방 (after-school program), skool, students, teaching

2D – Break it Up

  • the syllable game is WILDLY popular for unknown reasons
  • most students not too familiar with Sudoku
  • AM movie on Saturday (check sched)

1F – no class (listening test)

  • which they are playing from the speakers in my gyomushil
  • as loud as possible
  • stupid tests


2B – Break it Up

  • gave phone number to two winter camp girls (<3) upon request
  • “dry erase boards” (laminated paper) v. popular
  • only one student knew Sudoku

2C – Break it Up

  • drew picture of me on dry erase boards as some sort of giant carrying Co-Teacher E on my back
    • latent tension between class and co-teacher?

Seeing a girl wearing a bright green sweater on the way back from the 공부방 today made me realize how badly I am fiending for some color in my wardrobe and in my life, now that it’s spring. In this time of year everything I own starts to feel faded and stretched out and I’m ready for something new, new like the leaves replacing the falling cherry blossoms. Winter is lovely, but it’s time to move on.

Also, the waffles sold by the ladies in 시청 always smell better than they taste. Waffles are a winter food. This is symbolic of my (temporary) disillusionment with the season. In case you missed that.

Teaching at the 공부방 went much more smoothly today. Soccer and I have worked out a schedule where we teach the littlest kids together for half an hour, and then the bigger ones together for the remaining time. The small children seem to have a compulsion to hit each other, and the youngest one looks like he’s maybe three, so their attention span doesn’t usually last an hour. The same is true, to a lesser degree, regarding the fourth/fifth/sixth graders – although I appreciated them much more after half an hour of coaxing children to stop screaming PLEASE. By the end of last year I was sort of dreading going back, simply because I felt so ineffective, but having two teachers work together makes a phenomenal difference, at least when the other teacher is Soccer. Watching the older kids, the ones I know better, I had this idea that maybe they might actually get something out of our time together. It’s spring, after all, and it’s the perfect time to start over.

Tomorrow is Election Day, or, as I like to think of it, “Korean Idol.” No more school, no more books, no more students’ dirty looks. At least until Thursday.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

