Intrepid Girl Reporter


Saturday, 9/6: a mod mod world
September 7, 2008, 6:47 am
Filed under: IGR Recommends

I know, I know, the only things I ever write about these days are a) politics and b) things I like. Where are the narratives? Where are the stories about thinly-veiled people from my life? I hate to break this to you, but not a whole lot is going on around Casa IGR (Miguk Fam Edition). That’s why I’m only able to write about things that are not me. Although we did have the med school party tonight, at which point I got to spend a long time talking to one of my father’s fourth-year students without remembering who, exactly, he was.

Anyway, I don’t have anything more exciting to relay regarding my own activities, which is why I am resorting to…more recommendations, in this case interrelated.

1. So I was reading the ReadyMade blog in the hopes that they would have their articles online (they don’t, for the most part). But they did have a link to…

2. 24 Postcards In Full Colour, which is a series of ringtones based on photographs. Bear with me. It features the prettiest and most original ringtones I’ve heard in a while. Max Richter created these mini compositions both as riffs on the pictures and as ringtones, because, as he says, “Who says ringtones have to be so bad?” They remind me of the band Rachel’s. They’re not available until September 23, at which point I will buy at least one, although I don’t even know which one I like the best. So, knowing that I would eventually be uploading a ringtone, and inspired by the instrumentals:

3. I opted to use Phonezoo to make a ringtone for my phone. Now, when you call me, I will hear Mark Mothersbaugh’s “Look At That Old Grizzly Bear” (unless you are my sister, in which case you will trigger All4One’s “I Can Love You Like That”). Phonezoo is free; my sister prefers Myxer, which is essentially the same thing, but I couldn’t get Myxer to send the ringtone to my phone. I have a Motorola MOTO w755, and I spent about an hour today messing with a USB cord and various Bluetooth application things trying to get this file to transfer, but it turns out that all my efforts were unneeded, thanks to Phonezoo. Note: the only way I was able to get this to work was to upload the song from a computer that didn’t have iTunes. I don’t know why this is.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

The ringtones are delightful. As a rule, I hate hate hate ringtones, period. My last miguk phone had a single beep. This was good for class – I never actually silenced it.

Have you seen/heard the mosquito ringtone? My students were all over that biz.

Comment by grayshifter




Leave a Reply

