Intrepid Girl Reporter


Sunday, 9/21: diamonds on the inside
September 22, 2008, 3:55 am
Filed under: IGR Recommends, music

Here’s another secret about me: I love Ben Harper. This is just another indicator that despite my bespectacled and intellectualed exterior, a little bit of my heart still lives in my sophomore dormitory and in the KKG house. In other words, part of me will always remain deeply fratty. I was listening to Diamonds on the Inside on my way home from Lexington, an album whose first song Soccer once proclaimed “too horrible to listen to.” Let’s not pretend that Mr. Harper is a subtle lyricist in any way. That having been said, if you’re willing to overlook that sort of thing, this album is so feel-good. Especially “Blessed to Be A Witness.” If I had to make a top-5 list of songs I actually enjoy that are rooted in Christianity, it would be composed entirely of Ben Harper and Sufjan Stevens songs, probably because they are the only ones whose music falls under that category. (Note: the folder link doesn’t contain all of the songs on the album, because I don’t have them all. You’ll live.)

The days I spent with Rooms and Rooms this weekend were marked by consumption, specifically: a torta, Graeter’s ice cream OM NOM NOM, fried pickles, and delicious Caribbean food at Atomic Cafe. The Festival Latino was filled with incredible dancing and about five too many country shout-outs, although I’m sure that the two people present from Uruguay did appreciate the announcer’s repeated acknowledgement of their presence. Last night we went out to Molly Brooke’s and then McCarthy’s, where we found ourselves in a very interesting political discussion with some German dudes who were studying mechanical engineering. After which we made our way back to R&R’s apartment, and I fell asleep and dreamed that I was raising from a hatchling a baby pelican named Vernon.

With the help of Rooms and Rooms, I also came up with the best idea ever: the anti-wedding playlist. The genesis of this came when I told Rooms that I wanted her to perform a duet at my wedding in which I would accompany her while we sang “Losing My Religion.” After Rooms drily suggested adding “Everybody Hurts” and “My Heart Will Go On” to the roster, I decided that the theme of my rehearsal dinner is going to be Inappropriate Wedding Music, with the centerpiece songs being U2’s “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” and Squeeze’s “Tempted by the Fruit of Another.” Other potential inclusions:

  • “Wicked Game” – Chris Isaak
  • “Glycerine” – Bush
  • “My Best Friend’s Girl” – The Cars
  • “Lola” – The Kinks
  • “Creep” – Radiohead
  • “I Started Something I Couldn’t Finish” – the Smiths

Of course, at the moment I have a million bridesmaids and no groom, but this list, I believe, will stand the test of time. Other suggestions, O Best Beloved?

Here are a few shots of the weekend. I’m still trying to learn the night aspects of the new point-and-shoot. (I couldn’t bring the big fat camera for obvious reasons.)

Rooms and her sister didn't like this picture, but I did

Rooms and her sister didn't like this picture but I did

Ale-81s are not only delicious, they are also .49 at the Kroger on Romany

Ale-81s are not only delicious, they are also .49 at the Kroger on Romany

Rooms eats black raspberry chip

Rooms eats black raspberry chip

I eat toffee chip with homemade butterscotch. Did you know that Graeter's pours their chocolate in during the churning process, resulting in large and awesome chips?

I eat toffee chip with homemade butterscotch. Did you know that Graeter's pours their chocolate in during the churning process, resulting in large and delectable chips?

Lexington by night...look closely and you'll see Rooms

Lexington by night...look closely and you can see Rooms

we're pretty sure that this woman Photoshopped herself into this Fayette Mall advertisement

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Kara: “What about ‘Believe’ by Cher?”

Comment by Brendan

Nice information, i link this blog, can u link exchange with my blog ? http://blog-baliblogier.blogspot.com give me confirmation. nice to visit your blog

Comment by Baliblogier

i like how we don’t have anything at all to differentiate our names

Comment by Marie

Brendan – perfect!

Marie – that’s all you get.

Comment by IGR




Leave a Reply

