Intrepid Girl Reporter


Wednesday, 11/4: let us now praise (un)famous (wo)men
November 4, 2009, 11:23 pm
Filed under: 공부방 (after-school program)

I should probably make a list of things in my life that are going okay tonight. It’s preferable to the alternative, although the alternative might be easier.

  • new roommate gave me leftover homemade Indian food and it was better than pretty much anything I have ever had in a restaurant
  • have successfully written every day since ScoopDaily launched (all two days)
  • received mandolin case in the mail
  • ScoopDaily is not blocked on my work computer (yet), which means I can blog during work hours
  • Evernote (I know, I know) allows me to take notes for blog entries at work and access them at home in a user-friendly way, thus rendering all of my procrastination potentially productive. PPPPPPPPP. I am not much of an adherent to any sort of productivity methodology, except for the fact that I like to accomplish things, but I am really loving this. On first glance it doesn’t seem particularly useful, but it essentially allows you to create different sections for different projects and things you are working on and then dump everything you find and think about into those categories. Which is sort of like the file setup on your computer, except that instead of having to save everything using different programs and in different formats, you can just clip it. It’s sort of like a giant interactive bulletin board. Is it weird that this reminds me both of Sabrina the Teenage Witch and Ghostwriter?

My office – and I do have an office, unlike many of my less fortunate coordinator peers – is, as I discovered today, on top of the school’s boiler. Yesterday, when I was out, the heat was turned up. I am a floor sitter, like most four-year-olds, so I already knew that the heat came from the floor, but today I was reminded of this fact when the temperature in my office rose to – I am not making this up – about eighty-eight degrees. The secretaries in the connected office kept yelling, “MISS [IGR]! COME ON OUT OF THERE, MISS [IGR]!” Whenever I emerged, they expressed their concern that I might fall victim to heatstroke.

Also, disciplinary incidents today:

  1. 4-year-old girl said “fuck your butt” (1)
  2. 2nd grader made other 2nd grader bleed, claims she was bothering him first, it becomes obvious that his stutter prohibits him from telling teacher when other people bother him, although not from cursing (1)
  3. 3-year-old boy yelled “oh shit” (1)

Which is how I found myself chugging a second bottle of soda (!!) and scarfing abandoned fruit snacks as the program wound down, hoping no one would come into my sauna of an office and wondering what country I was really in.

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

