Intrepid Girl Reporter


Friday, 11/6: Ms. IGR on the ringworm prowl
November 7, 2009, 1:38 am
Filed under: 공부방 (after-school program)

Today for breakfast I ate a chocolate and two packs of fruit snacks from the bag that was left in my office. The neat thing about these weird pseudo-gummies, even though they are sort of gross, is the diversity of flavors: according to the package (and my mouth), there’s peach, raspberry, and green grape in addition to boring old strawberry, orange and purple grape. My current diet reminds me a little bit of this exchange from Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion, a favorite of both Miguk Oma and myself:

Michele: Have you been losing weight?
Romy: Actually, I’m trying this new fat-free diet I invented. All I’ve had to eat for the last six days are gummi bears, jelly beans and candy corn.
Michele: God, I wish I had your discipline.

Today wasn’t notable for much with the exception of two new cases of ringworm. Ringworm is not as bad as it sounds, but it is still Pretty Gross. Gross enough, certainly, for the teachers to say, “Uuggh.” In front of the kids who have it. I’m not going to pretend that I am totally innocent in this area. I got one of our kindergartners bandaged up so that she wouldn’t spread it, and as soon as her mother got in, she started yelling at me about how I shouldn’t cover it because covering makes it spread. And I was like, lady, that doesn’t even make sense. That’s what I said in my head. What I said out loud was, “We…we were worried she would touch it.”

Now I itch all over. People who know me in real life, this is totally psychosomatic. I promise. I will not give you fungus. Unless you ask for it.

I also had dinner and drinks with one of my FB friends who lives in the city and who has become one of my favorite people around here. It was nice – peaceful, really – and allowed me a distraction from the thought of children you can’t even hug.

 

PS: I saw the temperature gun today, and it revealed that the temperature in my office has gone down to ninety degrees – eighty-seven, in some parts. The gun wasn’t as neat as I had hoped, but it was still pretty cool.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

