Intrepid Girl Reporter


Sunday, 12/27: nothing you confess could make me love you less
December 28, 2009, 1:49 am
Filed under: IGR Recommends

One of the perks of having a blog that gets double-digit daily readership* is the ability to spread the word about things you (where “you” is “the blogger”) believe should have more exposure. I have a lot of ground to cover, however. So, in no particular order: capsule reviews, where I’ve been, a fresh edition of IGR Recommends, meditations on sentimentality, et cetera.

WHERE I HAVE BEEN

Discretion requires that I don’t write about work, which is a pity, because it’s definitely the funniest part of my day, if not the funnest. (Heh.) I will share these stories eventually, probably, just not when I’m employed at this position.

CAPSULE REVIEWS

Avatar

The aliens all looked like they had spent their summer following a String Cheese Incident tour. Also, the fluctuation of the main character’s accent bothered me, and the acting was pretty uniformly terrible. On the upside, I finally know what it would be like to explore FernGully.

The Ocarina

Miguk Little Brother received one for Christmas. His enthusiasm for the instrument has the effect of making me feel as though I am constantly on some sort of Andean quest.

OTHER NEWS

Miguk Apa felt the need to transfer some old videos to DVD, over Miguk LB’s vigorous protests. I actually totally get why he did not want to revisit it – remembering how deeply uncomfortable I felt in my own skin for much of my childhood, it’s not something to which it’s easy to return. I think the hardest part for me and him both is when my father deliberately teases us about how adorable we were then and how sad he is that we are no longer children living with him – which would be ordinary and in good fun for some people, maybe, but because our family a) is v. tightly knit and b) is all sort of neurotic, esp. where guilt is concerned, this makes us feel sort of legitimately bad, even though it’s an unavoidable (and, quite frankly, healthy) part of growing up.

On that DVD there was an old science video of myself and two people who were once very good friends of mine – although this was in high school, and it is fair to say that none of us are in high school anymore. One of my old high school classmates (who is not in this video) is now a relatively famous player in the NBA, and I’ve been thinking about what, if anything, this means – what common points we have/would have, were we ever to meet (because it’s not like we ever hung out back then). How much shared experience you need to have it mean something. But with these two – and we’re all very different people now – it almost doesn’t matter that they’re not in my life anymore; they were once, and that is enough. Weirdly enough, this sort of helps me consider my relationships now with some sanity.

Also, I am at home for another week while my car gets fixed, as I am more or less stranded here. It works out fairly well, I suppose – more time to finish the last of the grad school apps, recover from a rather unpleasant cold, etc. I got Miguk Momma’s old iPod, which is larger and in better shape than mine, and I have been reorganizing all of my music and sorting it by genre. It’s satisfying in a sick sort of way. Maybe this is a small step towards being a grown-up. Or, uh, maybe not.

IGR RECOMMENDS

This is my new favorite song, and for a song so pretty, it’s inexplicably unavailable anywhere except, uh, via purchase. Even the lyrics required extensive Googling, which is unusual for an album that is readily available from iTunes. It’s such a lovely and sad song, almost uncomfortably so; an artist like Elliott Smith, for example, can get so despairing that he seems almost distant – IGRB used to say that whenever he felt like being sad he just let Elliott Smith do it for him. This is a much more relatable kind of downtrodden aesthetic. But the way it soars, it almost doesn’t matter. There are some reviews describing it as “lazy” and/or “breezy,” but those reviews are wrong, and those people clearly haven’t read the lyrics.

The Court and Spark – We Were All Uptown Rulers

IGR also recommends the filesharing service used for that file, Droplr. It is very convenient, especially for Mac users. IGR does NOT recommend the beer referenced in the abovementioned song, however. A bartender in DC once tried to tell IGR that it was, quote, “a flat beer.” Whatever, it was gross.

Continuing on with the recommendations, IGR has fallen in love all over again with the following song, which is not the best Pretenders song ever but is certainly a good one. I suspect that there is very little Chrissie Hynde could do to remove herself from the top of my list of Coolest Musicians Ever.

I think that’s all I’ve got. I’ll try to return here with more frequency.

*thanks Google searches

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So then what is the best Pretenders song ever?

Comment by Nikki

hm. Probably “Back on the Chain Gang”

Comment by IGR




Leave a Reply

