Intrepid Girl Reporter


Thursday, 1/21: I’m a stranger here myself
January 21, 2010, 12:44 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m sorry for my continued absence, Brendan.

There’s a lot going on in the life of IGR right now, a lot of small things that add up. But instead of telling you about them, I’m going to let Bill Hicok (Bob Hicok? the internet is not clear) do it for me.

I can’t prove you’re a good person, but I suspect you’re a good person.

A History of Origami

two women in three days

cried on the green bench in the park

where i found a dollar

folded into a boat.

i thought it was the crying bench and cried

on the crying bench

when it became available.

i cried

by thinking of all the people

who’ve never broken a shop window, not the baker’s

window, the bead-seller’s,

who sells beads for purposes

i find hard to list: necklaces,

the hanging of strings of beads

in doorways, the owning of beads

just in case.

breaking a shop window with a piece of shale

the size of my heart, a piece of shale

on which i’ve drawn my heart, not my actual heart

but my feelings of my heart,

since i’ve never seen my heart,

would set something free.

i don’t know what that something is

but it would be free.

and my heart would have survived its travels

through glass, its jagged voyage

through my reflection.

you see now why i cried: none of this is real.

until i can answer yes to the cop who asks, is this your heart

among the ruins of your reflection?

i won’t be a man, despite what my anatomy

insists.

it insists

that i overcome a sense of resistance when i move,

that i move

as long as i am able to move, and when i am unable

to move, that i stop.

it would be free and look like a bird, an actual bird

or a dollar folded into a bird, a dollar bird

in a dollar boat.

which is to say

i believe origami arrives

when we need it most.

i can’t prove this but i can’t prove

you’re a good person though i suspect

you’re a good person.

you who opened the door.

you who tipped your hat.

you who ran into the fire and carried

the fire safely out.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

